Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
Inclusive Education

Early Childhood Services
ECS or Kindergarten programs are offered by most elementary schools in the district. Kindergarten programs run 475 hours according to provincial guidelines, while playschool hours vary from site-to-site. Program Unit Funding (PUF) is available for 3-year-olds who have severe delays. Programming may also be available for 4-year-olds who have a mild/moderate delay. For more information, contact Karen Chrenek.

Early Childhood Special Education Services
Kindergarten and Preschool brochure

Contracted Resources
Students with sensory impairments (deaf, blind) and severe communication problems are served by the CASE team, out of Grande Prairie. The team serves all of northern Alberta. Students must meet CASE criteria and are offered assessment and consultation services. For information about referrals, please contact Peace Wapiti Public School Division at (780) 532-8133.

Resources outside the district (ie. physiotherapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy) are contracted on an individual basis for severe disability children. Assessment and consultation for teachers and teaching assistants are provided. Please contact your school.

District Resources
Karen Chrenek 
Inclusive Education and Special Programming, including Program Unit Funding (PUF) for ECS

Inclusive Education Programs
Each school has resources available for inclusive education. Programs are developed for students in consultation with the special education/resource teacher and school Learning Coaches. Referral systems for in-school assessment, consultation and programming are school-based.

Inclusive Education Learning Coaches

Carmen Moore:
Harry Balfour School, Beaverlodge Elementary School

Deb Reynolds:
Bezanson School, Teepee Creek School, Ridgevalley School

Erin MacLellan:
Clairmont Community School, Robert W. Zahara Public School

Karen Chrenek
Peace Wapiti Academy, Program Unit Funding (PUF), Mild/Moderate, Family Services for Children with Disabilities (FSCD), Off-Site Preschools, Collaborative Responce Model (CRM), Severe Disability

Kathy Mykyte:
Spirit River Regional Academy, Rycroft School, Eaglesham School

Penny Calvert:

Sexsmith Secondary School, LaGlace School, Beaverlodge Regional High School

Rochelle Dempsky:
Penson School, Helen E. Taylor School, Wembley Elementary School

Tatum Doris:

Hythe Regional School, Elmworth School, Peace Academy of Virtual Education (PAVE) 

Terrina Hampton:
Woking School, Savanna School, Bonanza School

School Community Teams
Interagency teams (i.e. R.C.M.P., Health Unit Nurse, Social Services, School representative) are available to provide support to families whose children are experiencing difficulties at home or at school. Access to school community teams for consultation and referral is available to all schools. Team members can be contacted directly or through the school principal or counselor.