Utility links 11735-105 Street, Unit #106, Grande Prairie, AB T8X 2B5, Phone: (587) 771-2179| Register Online| Contact Us
Alternative Education
News Item

Nine PWSD students qualify for Provincial Skills Canada Competition

October 10, 2018

​The results are in. Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) congratulates all participants in the Regional Skills Canada Competition (RSCC) held on April 19-20 in Fairview, AB, and is pleased to announce that 14 students received medals at the event – six gold, five silver, and three bronze. Of those, nine medalists placed in qualifying events and will advance to the Provincial Skills Canada Competition (PSCC) on May 30-June 1, 2018 at the Edmonton EXPO Centre. A list of medalists is included below. (* Denotes provincial progression.)

Automobile Technology

Gold – David Romanuik, Grade 10, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Cabinet Making

Gold – Blake Souther, Grade 11, Beaverlodge Regional High School*
Silver – Jared Fehr, Grade 12, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Fashion Technology

Gold – Madison Prangnell, Grade 12, Peace Wapiti Academy*


Hairstyling Junior

Gold – Dani Riendeau, Grade 10, Beaverlodge Regional High School* 

Silver – Emily Chambers, Grade 10, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Hairstyling Intermediate

Silver – Meadow Thomas, Grade 12, Beaverlodge Regional High School*

Bronze – Brenna Kachnic, Grade 10, Peace Wapiti Academy


IT Network Systems Administration

Gold – Sam Raskauskas, Grade 11, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Outdoor Power & Recreation Equipment

Gold – Jason Cote, Grade 12, Peace Wapiti Academy*


Robotics (team event)
Silver – Peace Wapiti Academy team: Grade 10 students Jaden Jabs and Sam Street
Bronze – Sexsmith Secondary School team: Jack Muggaberg, Grade 10 and Fox Imler, Grade 11

Gold medalists from the PSCC event will form Team Alberta and return to the Edmonton EXPO Centre on June 4-5 to compete at the Skills Canada National Competition. PSCC results will be published as soon as they become available. For more information, visit http://www.skillsalberta.com.

Above: Beaverlodge Regional High School RSCC medalists (l-r) Blake Souther, Dani Riendeau and Meadow Thomas.

Above: Sexsmith Secondary School RSCC medalists (l-r) David Romanuik, Jared Fehr, Jack Muggaberg, Fox Imler, Sam Raskauskas and Emily Chambers.

Above: Peace Wapiti Academy RSCC medalists (front, l-r)
Brenna Kachnic, Madison Prangnell (back, l-r) Sam Street, Jason Cote and Jaden Jabs.