Utility links 11735-105 Street, Unit #106, Grande Prairie, AB T8X 2B5, Phone: (587) 771-2179| Register Online| Contact Us
Alternative Education
News Item

PWSD honours top academic students of past school year

October 10, 2018

PWSD's Board of Trustees honoured seven former students for outstanding academic achievement during the 2015-2016 school year at a ceremony and luncheon held during the Board meeting on February 23, 2017. Those in attendance were on study break from post-secondary institutions.

Mikayla Watt (pictured below), a graduate of Beaverlodge Regional High School, was named Top Student in the Division and received a $300 award for her achievement.

Awards of Excellence in the amount of $100 were presented to those who graduated with averages above 90 per cent. Noted for this achievement were Sexsmith Secondary School graduates Justin Ikenouye, Hailey Huls and Blain Moskalyk.

Top in School Awards in the amount of $100 went to graduates Kevin Bolster of Eaglesham School, Madi Binks of Peace Wapiti Academy, and Christen Rose of Ridgevalley School, for achieving the highest marks at their respective schools during the past school year. 

Above: 2015-2016 Academic Awards of Excellence recipients (l-r): Top Student in the Division Award went to Mikayla Watt, graduate of Beaverlodge Regional High School; Christen Rose of Ridgevalley School received a Top in School Award; and Awards of Excellence were presented to Blain Moskalyk, Justin Ikenouye and Hailey Huls of Sexsmith Secondary School. Missing from photo: Top in School Award recipients Kevin Bolster of Eaglesham School and Madi Binks of Peace Wapiti Academy.

Right: Beaverlodge Regional High School graduate Mikayla Watt (left) was named Top Student in the Division for the 2015-2016 school year. Presenting the award is PWSD Trustee Kim Moodie (right).