Utility links 10815 - 104 St., Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 6R2| Phone: (780) 532-9276| Register Online| Contact Us
Harry Balfour School
Peace Wapitit Pulic School Division No. 76
School Council Contacts

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to this year's School Council.


Principal: Jen Clevette                                              jenclevette@pwsd76.ab.ca

The principal works closely with the School Council to ensure the needs of the school are met for the betterment of the school.

Chair:  Candace Stirrett mexicocandace@gmail.com

The Chair shall be responsible for planning the agenda for meetings, facilitating the meetings, acting as spokesperson for the council, and generally supervising the council

Vice Chair: Rachel Kenney crkenney@telus.net


The Vice Chair shall assist the chair with duties as assigned and, in the absence of the chair, assume the duties of the Chair.


Secretary: Alison Bergsma                         bergsma@gpnet.ca  


The Secretary shall be responsible for keeping accurate minutes and records of the meetings, taking care of all correspondence and communication, and keeping an accurate list of names and addresses of the council members.

Grade Reps: The Grade Reps shall actively seek to understand the views of those constituents who elected them and:


  • Communicate the views of the parents of their grade to School Council.
  • Communicate, on a regular basis, the activities of the School Council to the parents of their grade.
  • Aid the Chair and undertake any tasks assigned by the Chair or the School Council, and
  • Assist in any committee assigned by the School Council.


ECS Reps: Cindy Ewert cindyewert@outlook.com

Grade 1 Rep: Jessica Smith jamw81@hotmail.com

Grade 2 Rep: Rachel Kenney crkenney@telus.net

Grade 3 Rep: Allison Dembicki allisondembicki@gmail.com

Grade 4 Rep: Brandi Reeve mbreeve@telus.net

Grade 5 Rep: Lesley Clifford lesleyclifford@shaw.ca

Grade 6 Reps: Alison Bergsma bergsma@gpnet.ca

Grade 7 Rep: Carolyn Johnson neilcaro@coool.ca

Grade 8 Rep:  Jen Gitzel Jen.gitzel@gmail.com                                            

Community Representative:  Erin LaFond basketenvygp@yahoo.ca

The Community Representative shall act as liaisons with the wider community.

PWA Parent Liaison: Carolyn Johnson neilcaro@coool.ca

The PWA Parent Liaison acts as liaison between Peace Wapiti Academy School Council and Harry Balfour School Council

Participarent Liaison: Rebecca Valin beccavalin@gmail.com 

The Participarent Rep acts as liaison between Participarent group and Harry Balfour School Council with matters of common interest

PWSD Trustee:  Stephanie Clarke                                             Stephanieclarke@pwsd76.ab.ca

Trustee acts as a liaison between the PWSD board and the School Council.

If you have ideas, questions, comments or concerns that you would like to have presented at a School Council meeting, please do not hesitate to contact one of your Grade Reps. School Council meetings are open to all parents, guardians and teachers. Meeting dates are held on the third Wednesday of each month from 6:30-8:30 in the science lab (with the exception of December and June when there are no meetings).   Everyone is encouraged to attend.