Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWPSD honours top academic students of past school year

February 21, 2020

Grande Prairie, AB
– PWPSD Trustees honoured 15 former students at a ceremony and luncheon during the Board meeting on February 20, recognizing outstanding Grade 12 academic achievement during the past 2018-2019 school year. Many who attended were on study break from various post-secondary institutions.   

Pictured above:

Front, left-right: Kylee Dunfield, graduate of Peace Wapiti Academy; and Beaverlodge Regional High School graduates Brennan Cincurak, Jane Villiger, Josie Kjemhus and Hailey Marth.
Middle, left-right: Sexsmith Secondary School graduates Kristin Badger, Sara Thompson, Adanna Randall and Erin Siemens.
Back, left-right: Mackenzie Laurin, graduate of Eaglesham School and Moira McRann, graduate of Savanna School.
Missing from photo: Graduates Denise Sather, Ridgevalley School; Jordell Strand and Kevin Terceros, Peace Wapiti Academy; and Sheena Corfe, Spirit River Regional Academy.

In addition to being recognized as Sexsmith Secondary School's Top Student in School, graduate Kristin Badger, pictured above with Ward 6 Trustee Dale Crane, was named Top Student in the Division for the past school year and received a $300 award for her achievement. 

Awards of Excellence in the amount of $100
were presented to graduates with averages above 90 per cent:

  • Brennan Cincurak, Beaverlodge Regional High School
  • Josie Kjemhus, Beaverlodge Regional High School
  • Jane Villiger, Beaverlodge Regional High School
  • Hailey Marth, Beaverlodge Regional High School  also recognized as Top Student in School
  • Mackenzie Laurin, Eaglesham School also recognized as Top Student in School
  • Jordell Strand, Peace Wapiti Academy 
  • Kevin Terceros, Peace Wapiti Academy
  • Kylee Dunfield, Peace Wapiti Academy also recognized as Top Student in School
  • Adanna Randall, Sexsmith Secondary School
  • Erin Siemens, Sexsmith Secondary School
  • Sara Thompson, Sexsmith Secondary School

Top Student in School Awards in the amount of $100
went to graduates who achieved the highest average at their schools (at least 80 per cent):

  • Moira McRann, Savanna School
  • Sheena Corfe, Spirit River Regional Academy
  • Denise Sather, Ridgevalley School

Visit the PWPSD Facebook page for individual photos from the ceremony