Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

Nine PWSD students qualify for Provincial Skills Canada Competition

April 25, 2018

​The results are in. Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) congratulates all participants in the Regional Skills Canada Competition (RSCC) held on April 19-20 in Fairview, AB, and is pleased to announce that 14 students received medals at the event – six gold, five silver, and three bronze. Of those, nine medalists placed in qualifying events and will advance to the Provincial Skills Canada Competition (PSCC) on May 30-June 1, 2018 at the Edmonton EXPO Centre. A list of medalists is included below. (* Denotes provincial progression.)

Automobile Technology

Gold – David Romanuik, Grade 10, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Cabinet Making

Gold – Blake Souther, Grade 11, Beaverlodge Regional High School*
Silver – Jared Fehr, Grade 12, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Fashion Technology

Gold – Madison Prangnell, Grade 12, Peace Wapiti Academy*


Hairstyling Junior

Gold – Dani Riendeau, Grade 10, Beaverlodge Regional High School* 

Silver – Emily Chambers, Grade 10, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Hairstyling Intermediate

Silver – Meadow Thomas, Grade 12, Beaverlodge Regional High School*

Bronze – Brenna Kachnic, Grade 10, Peace Wapiti Academy


IT Network Systems Administration

Gold – Sam Raskauskas, Grade 11, Sexsmith Secondary School*


Outdoor Power & Recreation Equipment

Gold – Jason Cote, Grade 12, Peace Wapiti Academy*


Robotics (team event)
Silver – Peace Wapiti Academy team: Grade 10 students Jaden Jabs and Sam Street
Bronze – Sexsmith Secondary School team: Jack Muggaberg, Grade 10 and Fox Imler, Grade 11

Gold medalists from the PSCC event will form Team Alberta and return to the Edmonton EXPO Centre on June 4-5 to compete at the Skills Canada National Competition. PSCC results will be published as soon as they become available. For more information, visit http://www.skillsalberta.com.

Above: Beaverlodge Regional High School RSCC medalists (l-r) Blake Souther, Dani Riendeau and Meadow Thomas.

Above: Sexsmith Secondary School RSCC medalists (l-r) David Romanuik, Jared Fehr, Jack Muggaberg, Fox Imler, Sam Raskauskas and Emily Chambers.

Above: Peace Wapiti Academy RSCC medalists (front, l-r)
Brenna Kachnic, Madison Prangnell (back, l-r) Sam Street, Jason Cote and Jaden Jabs.