Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWSD selects 2015 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee –

March 30, 2015

Melissa Wade, Grades 3-5 teacher at LaGlace School

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) is pleased to announce that Melissa Wade, a Grades 3-5 teacher at LaGlace School, has been selected as the 2015 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee, an annual award recognizing outstanding first-year teachers.

Ms. Wade graduated from the University of Alberta in 2013 with a Bachelor of Education degree. She also holds a certificate in Early Childhood Education.

Ms. Wade says she is truly honoured to be nominated for this award. 

“I am privileged to work with a very strong team. Their support and encouragement has helped me reach my accomplishments. My success also comes from working in a community that supports our school. I am happy to be a part of this community and am grateful that they appreciate my contributions and involvement,” says Ms. Wade.

Ms. Wade currently teaches Grade 3 language arts and math, Grade 4 math, as well as science, health, art, and physical education to a Grades 4 and 5 split class.

Principal Terry Fast says Ms. Wade is an awesome example of a young teacher who is dedicated to today’s move toward excellence in education.

“From her well-designed lessons, to her commitment to educate the whole child, Ms. Wade engages young learners through leveled instruction and project-based learning. Her firm grasp on authentic assessment ensures that her students understand their learning targets as well as their progress toward meeting those goals,” says Principal Fast.

“Ms. Wade has been an active leader in building ethical citizens through her participation in the Classroom Champions project which has seen a Canadian Olympian paired with her Grade 4 class to complete character building challenges,” adds Principal Fast. “The dynamic art projects that flow from her classroom demonstrate her understanding of a student’s need to express themselves in unique ways. As a staff member, she fully engages in school-wide projects, helping out with the planning and implementation of the Grades 5 and 6 field trip to Edmonton, as well as any other community building events that are planned.”

In addition to her Classroom Champion project, Ms. Wade is a member of the school’s Healthy Living initiative. This year, she will be planning a school-wide summer play day. Looking ahead to next year, she plans to start a junior leadership committee to help increase student involvement. 

PWSD’s Board and Executive Team congratulate Ms. Wade on her nomination and wish her success as she moves forward to the Zone One competition. The overall winner for the region will be announced at the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone One Fall General Meeting on September 24, 2015 in Peace River, AB.

About the Award
Edwin Parr, past-president of the Alberta School Trustees’ Association from 1956 to 1962, instituted an “Annual Teacher Award” in his school system. Now presented by the ASBA, formerly the Alberta School Trustees’ Association, the Edwin Parr Teacher Award was originally established by the Alberta School Trustees’ Association in 1964 as a way in which Mr. Parr’s memory might be perpetuated and to honour the profession he so dearly respected.

This annual award recognizes outstanding first-year teachers. School Boards are restricted to nominating a single candidate for the award. One winner will be chosen in each of Alberta’s six school zones. Awards will be presented to the six winners at a zone function held in their honour prior to the ASBA Fall General Meeting.

For more information, visit http://www.asba.ab.ca/about-asba/forms/awards.

Photo Caption: Melissa Wade, a Grades 3-5 teacher at LaGlace School, is PWSD’s nominee for the 2015 Edwin Parr Teacher Award.