Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWSD teacher nominated for 2014 Edwin Parr Teacher Award

April 24, 2014

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) is pleased to announce that Joshua Kostanuick, a first-year teacher at Peace Wapiti Academy (PWA) in Grande Prairie, has been nominated for a 2014 Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

Mr. Kostanuick, a junior/senior high Career and Technology Studies (CTS) teacher, holds a Bachelor of Education with a major in CTS and a minor in Physical Education from the University of Alberta, and studied at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, attaining Red Seal Journeyman certification in carpentry and a diploma in millwork. During his first year at PWA, he has taught CTS courses in building construction and mechanics.

As head coach of the PWA Titans, Mr. Kostanuick shares his passion for football with the students and facilitated the merger of the team with the Beaverlodge Regional High School team. Mr. Kostanuick regularly integrates technology in his lesson plans, creating iMovies which feature step-by-step instructions for class construction projects. He volunteers as league treasurer for the Mighty Peace Football League and is a judge at the local 4-H public speaking event. As lead teacher for two extracurricular clubs, Christian Students in Action (CIA) and the Remote Control Car Club (R/C), he helps to create opportunities for students to be involved at school and improves the overall school experience for many students. 

Principal Wanda Gerard says Mr. Kostanuick started teaching at PWA following the retirement of a long-time CTS teacher and coach.

“To be a first-year teacher is challenging in itself. To fill such big shoes is another matter. Mr. Kostanuick has done that and then some. He spent last summer remodeling our automotive shop, the construction compound and the classroom to make it his own. The positive and professional manner with which he has approached his students, their parents and his colleagues during this first year has established his credibility as an excellent CTS teacher and coach. He is a wonderful role model for students and is well on his way to a promising career as an educator,” adds Ms. Gerard.

“In my first year of teaching at PWA, the support I have received from the administration has been a real blessing. It’s an honour to be nominated for this award, but I couldn’t have achieved this without their support. High school didn’t come easy for me, and without the support of my teachers, I wouldn’t have made it through. It’s great to be able to give back to my students now that I’m a teacher,” says Mr. Kostanuick.

About the Award

Edwin Parr, past-president of the Alberta School Trustees’ Association from 1956 to 1962, instituted an “Annual Teacher Award” in his school system. Now presented by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), formerly the Alberta School Trustees’ Association, the Edwin Parr Teacher Award was originally established by the Alberta School Trustees’ Association in 1964 as a way in which Mr. Parr’s memory might be perpetuated and to honour the profession he so dearly respected.

This annual award recognizes outstanding first-year teachers. School Boards are restricted to nominating a single candidate for the award. One winner will be chosen in each of Alberta’s six school zones. Awards will be presented to the six winners at a zone function held in their honour prior to the ASBA Fall General Meeting.