Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWSD students to be recognized as ‘Leaders of Tomorrow’

April 23, 2014

Seven students from Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) will be recognized with 2014 Leaders of Tomorrow Awards at Grande Prairie’s Annual Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon. This event, hosted by the Grande Prairie Volunteer Service Bureau, will take place at People’s Church Auditorium, 11850-108 Street, beginning at noon on Thursday, April 24, 2014. Award recipients will be available to speak to media following the luncheon at 2:00 p.m.

The Leaders of Tomorrow Awards program recognizes students in the age categories of 13 to 15 years old and 16 to 18 years old who have made outstanding contributions to their communities through volunteerism.

Nominees must exhibit dedication and excellence in any field of volunteer work including school, community, athletics, or fine arts; and inspire the spirit of volunteerism in others.

PWSD students receiving recognition in the 13 to 15 years old category are:

• Courtney Douglas, Helen E. Taylor School
• Keyana Anderson, Sexsmith Secondary School
• Rylan Stark, Sexsmith Secondary School

PWSD students receiving recognition in the 16 to 18 years old category are:

• Ashley McDiarmid, Beaverlodge Regional High School
• Melissa Yewell, Beaverlodge Regional High School
• Nick Bailey, Peace Wapiti Academy
• Kallum McDonald, Peace Wapiti Academy

Each award recipient will receive a Leaders of Tomorrow Awards plaque, a cash award of $100, plus a $100 donation to a registered charity of choice.

For more information on the Leaders of Tomorrow Awards, visit http://www.gpvsb.com/files/2014%20LOT%20Nomination%20Package%20final.pdf.