Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
PWSD School Board Trustee Election 2017

Prospective Trustee Candidates

Are you considering being a part of the 2017 School Board Elections?
Have you read Alberta School Boards Association's (ASBA) brochure? Be a leader in your community – become a school board trustee Other resources are continually being added to the ASBA Election website, including videos and FAQ. 

The following policies may be of particular interest to new candidates:

The complete PWSD Policy Manual is available on our web site.

Other Resources
PWSD Viewbook
2017-2018 Board Work Plan
2017-2018 Board Meeting Schedule and Calendar
2017-2018 School Year Calendar

Nomination Form
Please complete, save and print the fillable PDF form, and return it to:

  • Central Office, 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, or
  • Sub Office, 4201 - 50th Street, Spirit River

New Candidate Information Package

One of the best ways to gain a better understanding of trusteeship is to attend one of the Peace Wapiti School Division Board meetings, held at the Central Office in Grande Prairie. Meetings start at 10:30 a.m. Please call to confirm the date of our next meeting, or check the Trustee web site. We look forward to seeing you there.


Contact the Corporate Secretary or the Board Chair if you have more questions:

JoAnn Vanstone (780-532-8133) joannvanstone@pwsd76.ab.ca
Dana McIntosh (Board Chair) danamcintosh@pwsd76.ab.ca

Valuable Sites to View:

PSBA Campaign School cost per session is $225.00, Open to everyone. Register online at http://www.public-schools.ab.ca.

  • April 6, 2017: North Session, Courtyard Edmonton West.
  • May 8, 2017: South Session, Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel.
  • June 2, 2017: Central Session, Sheraton Red Deer Hotel.

General Information

Qualification of Candidates

A person may be nominated as a candidate if, on nomination day, the person:

  • is eligible to vote in the election;
  • has been a resident of the local jurisdiction and the ward for the six consecutive months immediately preceding nomination day, and;
  • is not otherwise ineligible or disqualified.

Note: these are general guidelines, candidates should refer to the Local Authorities Election Act and the School Act for complete information. These Acts are available on the Alberta Queen's Printer website.

Nomination Day
Takes place only on Monday, September 18, 2017. Completed nomination papers must be received between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. at either of the following Peace Wapiti School Division locations:

  • Central Office, 8611A - 108th Street, Grande Prairie
  • Sub Office, 4201 - 50th Street, Spirit River

Election Day
Monday, October 16, 2017
Polling stations will be announced.


Peace Wapiti School Division is divided into nine electoral wards or boundaries. Each ward has a school trustee that has been elected by the citizens within the boundaries of that ward. In 2017, the Board approved a bylaw to redefine the boundaries that were impacted by annexation.

Candidates are invited to run in the following areas:

  • WARD 1              Eaglesham, Woking & Rycroft
  • WARD 2              Bonanza, Savanna & Spirit River
  • WARD 3              Beaverlodge & Elmworth
  • WARD 4              Hythe & LaGlace
  • WARD 5              Grande Prairie West & Wembley
  • WARD 6              Sexsmith & Teepee Creek
  • WARD 7              Grande Prairie East & Grovedale
  • WARD 8              Ridgevalley
  • WARD 9              Clairmont & Bezanson


Read PWSD Election News

To read the May/June 2017 edition of PWSD Election News, click the graphic below.