Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWPSD Inclusive Education Coaches win Council for Inclusive Education Award

December 17, 2018

​PWPSD's Inclusive Education Coaches were presented with the Carmela Amelio McCaw Inclusive Education Award from the Council for Inclusive Education (CIE) on October 18, 2018. The award recognizes a team that provides effective programming for students with exceptionalities. The award consists of a certificate and $1,000 to support continued implementation of the program. The team was nominated by Peace Wapiti Academy (PWA) Assistant Principal Kaila Villiger and Heather Craigdaillie, Peace Collaborative Services (PCS) Psychologist.

Members of PWPSD's Inclusive Education team celebrated their win during a gathering on Friday, December 14, 2018. Pictured left-right are Randy Carlstad, Kathy Mykyte, Rowena Stewart, Mandy Funk, Karen Chrenek, Arlene Salacki, Heather Craigdaillie, Erika Walsh, Diedre Crocker, Carmen Moore, Kaila Villiger, and Heather Putio, Assistant Superintendent of Inclusive Education.

In her letter of reference for the award nomination package, Ms. Putio, who oversees and works with PWPSD's Inclusive Education Coaching Team, said, "I count my work with this talented and insightful team to be one of the best things I do in my role."

To be eligible, nominees must be certified teachers, Alberta residents and members of the ATA Council for Inclusive Education. They must also show evidence of positive results of programming over time; support for students with a wide range of needs; development of physical, social, emotional and intellectual growth; collaborative practice; and innovative and research-based practice(s).