Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWSD students recognized as ‘Leaders of Tomorrow’

April 18, 2016

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) congratulates three students who were among those recognized by the Grande Prairie Volunteer Service Bureau with Leaders of Tomorrow Awards at the annual volunteer appreciation luncheon on Friday, April 15. The awards are presented by ATCO and recognize students aged 13 to 15 years old and 16 to 18 years old who have made outstanding contributions to their communities through volunteerism. Award recipients receive a trophy, a cash award of $100, plus a $100 donation to a registered charity of choice.

Isabelle Rorem, a Grade 10 student at Sexsmith Secondary School says she was happy and surprised when she learned she had been nominated by two teachers at her school. Recognized in the 13 to 15 years old category, Miss Rorem selected Odyssey House as her charity. At school, she is active in Interact Club, is president of the Leadership Committee, and is a member of PWSD's Jurisdictional Student Engagement Team (JSET). She is a member of the newly-formed Sexsmith Youth Council, served as an ambassador at the last Mighty Peace Day event, and is Mighty Peace Youth for Change Board member. 

"I grew up watching my grandparents and parents volunteer. I like helping people – I have since I was little. People say a lot of negative things about teenagers, but it's just not true.  Many of us are working hard to make our schools, our communities, and the world a better place," adds Miss Rorem.

Savannah McKay and Erika Stamp, Grade 12 students at Beaverlodge Regional High School, were recognized in the 16 to 18 years old category.

"I think it's great to display leadership in the community by being a role model for younger people," says Miss McKay. "It gives me a great deal of satisfaction to help individuals in my community."

As a member of her school's Leadership Club, Miss McKay plans meetings, events and fundraising activities. She is captain of the school's senior Volleyball team and shares her passion for the sport with younger athletes as head coach of the Rebels Volleyball Club. She was nominated by her school and will direct her charity donation to the Wolverines Wheelchair Sports Association.

Miss Stamp says she volunteers because it helps her whole community. "It provides opportunities for more than just a select few."

At her young age, Miss Stamp has already given 14 years of service to the Wembley Food Bank. She also helps out with community and church-based fundraisers and events, has led her school's Drama and Youth Clubs, is a founding member of the Wembley Youth Engagement League, is a member of the PWSD JSET, and volunteers with the Wembley Public Library and Wembley Parks and Rec – the latter of which nominated her for a Leaders of Tomorrow Award. Her charity of choice is Pete's Pals Foundation. 

For more information on the Leaders of Tomorrow Awards, visit http://www.gpvsb.com.

Photo Caption: Left-right: Erika Stamp and Savannah McKay, Grade 12 students at Beaverlodge Regional High School, and Isabelle Rorem, a Grade 10 student at Sexsmith Secondary School, were among the recipients of Leaders of Tomorrow Awards at a luncheon on April 15, 2016.