Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

PWSD selects 2016 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee – Geoff Berg, Grade 3 teacher at Clairmont Community School

March 22, 2016

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) is pleased to nominate Geoff Berg, a Grade 3 teacher at Clairmont Community School, for a 2016 Edwin Parr Teacher Award, an annual award presented by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) recognizing outstanding first-year teachers in each of the six ASBA Zones.

Mr. Berg graduated from the University of Lethbridge in 2015 with bachelor's degrees in education and science, majoring in mathematics.

Mr. Berg says he is very honoured by the nomination.

"To be nominated for this award by people I respect immensely as educators means so much to me. The support I have received in my first year as a teacher has been fundamental, and I am constantly inspired by the staff at CCS and what is being accomplished throughout PWSD. I find great joy in coming into the classroom each day and feel very fortunate to be part of the environment which has been built at CCS. Edwin Parr was an educator who truly understood the impact teachers can have on kids, and to be nominated for an award in his honour is very meaningful to me."

Principal Shawn O'Shea says Mr. Berg is already showing great promise, thanks to his flexible teaching methods and ability to adjust lessons to suit all learning styles.

"Mr. Berg demonstrates his appreciation for individual differences by going the extra mile to ensure all students are learning," adds Principal O'Shea. "Through varied instruction and willingness to try new things, Mr. Berg has created an exceptional, interactive learning environment for his class. Students know what is expected of them, and he continually monitors their progress using a variety of evaluation methods." 

"Mr. Berg always looks for ways to understand his students, while engaging them and ensuring their learning needs are met. His willingness to see the best in each student, while challenging them to succeed, is truly a gift. His warmth and generosity of spirit form the basis of a natural environment where his students' sense of belonging and self-esteem thrive. His approach is very much in tune with Clairmont Community School's 'whole child' model which supports the social-emotional and mental health needs of our students, along with their academic needs," says Principal O'Shea.

During his first year of teaching, Mr. Berg has become immersed in the school's extracurricular activities and community events. In addition to planning activities to promote rapport among students and staff, he has helped to organize the school's basketball team and plans to coach soccer this spring.

PWSD's Board and Executive Team congratulate Mr. Berg on his nomination and wish him success as he moves forward to the Zone One competition. The overall winner for the region will be announced at the ASBA Zone One Fall General Meeting on September 22nd in Peace River, AB.

About the Award
Edwin Parr, past-president of the Alberta School Trustees' Association from 1956 to 1962, instituted an 'Annual Teacher Award' in his school system. Now presented by the ASBA, formerly the Alberta School Trustees' Association, the Edwin Parr Teacher Award was originally established by the Alberta School Trustees' Association in 1964 as a way in which Mr. Parr's memory might be perpetuated and to honour the profession he so dearly respected.

Each year, the ASBA honours six outstanding first-year teachers with Edwin Parr Awards, representing each ASBA zone. School Boards are restricted to nominating a single candidate for the award. Awards will be presented to the winners at individual zone functions prior to the ASBA Fall General Meeting. For more information, visit http://www.asba.ab.ca/about-asba/forms/awards.

Photo Caption: Geoff Berg, a Grade 3 teacher at Clairmont Community School, is PWSD's nominee for the 2016 Zone One Edwin Parr Teacher Award.