Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

Melissa Wade, Tools for School honoured at regional ASBA awards luncheon

September 25, 2015

Peace Wapiti Public School Division's (PWSD) Board of Trustees honoured a new teacher and a local organization for their contributions to education during the annual Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone One awards luncheon in Peace River on September 24th.

Melissa Wade, a Grades 3-5 teacher at LaGlace School and PWSD's Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee, was honoured along with fellow nominees from Zone One School Boards. The annual award recognizes one outstanding first-year teacher from each Board.

Principal Terry Fast of LaGlace School says Ms. Wade is "an awesome example of a young teacher who is dedicated to today's move toward excellence in education."

"On top of engaging her young learners through leveled instruction and project-based learning, Ms. Wade has been involved in the recent Classroom Champions project aimed at bringing students and Olympic athletes together. As a member of the school-wide events team, she plans active living events for the entire student body," adds Principal Fast.

Ms. Wade says it was an honour to be nominated for the award. "I am so thankful for the opportunity. I am proud to be part of such a great School Division and have my efforts noticed," she adds.

United Way Alberta Northwest was also recognized at the event, receiving PWSD's Friends of Education Award for their Tools for School program. The program unifies community agencies, educational institutions, corporate supporters, the general public and the media toward a common goal – to provide backpacks filled with school supplies for students in Kindergarten through Grade 12 whose families have limited resources. Nominations for the award are by Board motion, with each Zone One Board acknowledging an organization.

"More than just pens, paper and backpacks, The Tools for School program supports students' emotional and social well-being. Organizations and individuals who donate supplies and funds to this program are helping to remove a major barrier. Students are able to focus on learning rather than the supplies they lack," says Dana McIntosh, PWSD Board Chair.

Brenda Yamkowy, Executive Director of the United Way Alberta Northwest, accepted the award on behalf of her team.

"Tools for School is a collaborative event. We couldn't do this without the cooperation of local businesses and the community," says Ms. Yamkowy. "The United Way's role is to coordinate the program and bring everyone together. We have been involved with this program for more than 10 years. We want to express our thanks to PWSD for nominating us for this award."

"On behalf of Peace Wapiti Public School Division, I express our appreciation to United Way Alberta Northwest for their Tools for School program and its impact on students within our Division and throughout northwestern Alberta," adds Ms. McIntosh. "We congratulate Ms. Wade on her Edwin Parr Teacher Award nomination. We are thrilled to have her as a member of the PWSD team and wish her all the best as she embarks on her second year of teaching and extracurricular involvement at LaGlace School."

Photo Captions:
Above: Melissa Wade, PWSD's Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee (l) with Terry Fast, Principal of LaGlace School (r).

Below: Brenda Yamkowy, Executive Director of United Way Alberta Northwest (l), accepts the Friends of Education Award from Dana McIntosh, PWSD Board Chair (r).

Photos courtesy of Holy Family Catholic Regional Division.