Utility links 8611A - 108 Street, Grande Prairie, AB, T8V 4C5| Phone: (780) 532-8133| Register Online| Contact Us
Peace Wapiti Public School Division
Educating today for success tomorrow
Peace Wapiti Public School Division No. 76
News Item

New faces, new roles at PWSD – Leadership staffing update for the 2015-2016 school year

September 08, 2015

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWSD) is pleased to announce the following changes to leadership staffing, effective the start of the 2015-2016 school year, which officially began for staff on Thursday, August 27, 2015. The first day of classes for students was Tuesday, September 1.

Barb Arend has been named Principal of Bezanson School. Prior to her new position, Ms. Arend served as Principal and Teacher at Teepee Creek School since 2007.

Casey Brown is the new Principal at Teepee Creek School. Ms. Brown joined PWSD in 2011 as Principal of Rycroft School following 18 years at Northland School Division where she was employed in the roles of Teacher, Principal and Pedagogical Supervisor. She also spent two years as the Director of Education for the Athabasca Tribal Council. In 2009, she received the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence.

Julie Hynes has been appointed Principal of Rycroft School. Ms. Hynes began her career at Northland School Division, making the move to PWSD in 2001 as a Teacher at Bezanson School. Since transferring to Rycroft School in 2003, she has held a number of assignments, including Inclusive Education Coordinator; Grades 2, 3 and Junior High Teacher; General Learning Teacher; and Physical Education Teacher.